default logo


The Government of Uganda represented by the Ministry of Works and Transport has engaged China Harbour Engineering Company Limited (CHEC) to develop the Eastern and Northern routes. The Contract was signed on 30th March 2015 in Beijing China.

The Eastern Route will run from Tororo to Kampala through, Iganga, Jinja. (261km).

The stations on the Eastern route will include Kampala New City, New Station Kampala East, Jinja, Tororo and the substations will include Nagongera, Budumba, Busembatia, Iganga, Magamaga, Bulamagi and Lugazi.

The Northern Route will start from Tororo through Gulu to Nimule (476km) with a spur to Pakwach (117km). The stations on the Northern route will include: Mbale, Kumi, Soroti, Lira and Gulu. The substations will include: Magodes, Manafwa, Kachumbala, Bukedea, Mukura, Okunguro, Achuna, Aloi, Otwal, Patiri, Bwobo, Aparanga, Lolim, Pakwach East Terminal, Atiak and Nimule.

The Government signed a Memorandum of Understanding with CCECC for the Western Route, which will run from Kampala to Mirama Hills through Bihanga and Mbarara with a branch to Kasese, Mpondwe and Hima.


PIC: SGR valuer assesing project affected persons in Iganga